Fiberglass question (attachment of the small bulkheads to th

dahlke

Fiberglass question (attachment of the small bulkheads to th

Post by dahlke »

Be warned :) I'm an absolute novice when it comes to working with fiberglass.

As I believe I've mentioned in another post my boat had the small bulkhead in starboard side glassed in as opposed to bolted on to the hull (like all the other bulkheads). I was able to remove the bulkhead without using force :shock:

I would like to replicate the original way of bolting the bulkhead to the hull. My plan is to cover the bulkhead in thick plastic and position it correctly using the old shelves. Apply fiberglass and epoxy. Wait for the epoxy to cure and then drill the holes. As it is getting colder by the day my only option is to use West Systems 205 hardener. But what kind of fiberglass should I use? What weight and what weave? :)

Mads
Ballad #332 (aka. Obelix)
Restoration blog
Boat and restoration pictures
Bob McGovern

Re: Fiberglass question (attachment of the small bulkheads t

Post by Bob McGovern »

Mads: what you see there is an example of the poor secondary bonding properties of polyester resin. Polyester sticks to uncured (air-inhibited) polyester resin pretty well, so it's good for laminating new pieces. But it's a lousy adhesive for sticking to wood, epoxy, vinylester, or even fully-cured polyester resin. Looks like the tabbing was added well after the hull layup had cured. That's why it came off in your hands. :(