Spinnaker sailing!

MarkRyan1981

Spinnaker sailing!

Post by MarkRyan1981 »

Hello all,

I've always sailed with a cruising chute, which frankly drives me crazy as it won't perform dead downwind leading to me either giving up using it or effectively 'beating' down wind to keep the wind on the quarter. I would much prefer to sail with a spinnaker, any suggestions on the specification of the spinnaker?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mUk2zwyLW3U

Looking at the above video, jibing the spinnaker looks quite challenging as the pole is set so high, is this a feature of spinnaker sailing a Ballad? I sail single handed, effectively, most of the time, does flying a spinnaker become challenging in this scenario?

Any suggestions of good suppliers to get hold of a sail? Anyone have one for sale?

Thanks as always,

Mark
Bob McGovern

Re: Spinnaker sailing!

Post by Bob McGovern »

Hi Mark. I'm by no means a spinnaker expert, having never used the Ballad's. And where we sail our smaller boats, on high mountain lakes, spinnakers are suicidal. So take this with a grain of salt. :D Our spinnaker pole ring is on a track that slides from about 1.25m off the deck to a bit over 2m. At the top of its range, that would be difficult to reach. In mid range, you should be able to jibe it. You would absolutely need a tillerpilot or autopilot during this maneuver. The better autopilots have the ability to jibe the boat automatically while you work the foredeck. It is still a scary thing to do alone.